Close menu
Tell us what you look for in a car
6 models shown below
%models%

Loved by Australians.

Hyundai partners with Reevoo to provide 100% genuine, uncensored reviews. Here's what people have been saying about their i40s.

i40 reviews verified by reevooReevoo

59 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Comfort
8.9
Build quality
8.9
Performance
8.5
Fun to drive
8.7
Practicality
9.2
Fuel economy
9.1
Features and specifications
8.7
Value for money
8.9
Overall rating
8.9
Scores 8.9 out of 10 based on 59 reviews
Show more score details
10 out of 10

Biju

Melbourne/Tullamarine Parent – Young Family
+
Design and driving comfort is good.
Some features that are mentioned in the manual was not found in the Australian version of the i40. This I feel Hyundai had short changed the Australian Market.
Confirmed purchase: 29 May 2017
Published on: 24 July 2017

Hyundai i40 PREMIUM

8 out of 10

PAUL

Delaneys Creek Commuter
+
Fuel economy is excellent, l drive on rural, freeway, and some city and getting around 1400 Klms per tank fill. I have the 7speed auto which is an improvement, as l had a previous i40 with the 6 speed auto and always got around 1200 klms.
The new external features also make the car look even better!
This is my second i40 premium, a couple of features that l really liked have been removed which is a shame! These are the seat set position, where you just pressed a button and the seat moves to your desired position and ease of getting in and out of the car as the seat moves back when you turn the ignition off. And ventilated seats which was very helpful in summer. The two features they replaced them with are just gimmicks and of very little use. Lane guidance, if you need this you shouldn't be driving. It corrects when you start to drift over the lane marker and then can drift to the opposite side marker so you end up playing ping pong! And the auto park feature which l still have not used
Confirmed purchase: 25 May 2017
Published on: 22 July 2017

Hyundai i40 PREMIUM

8 out of 10

ANTHONY

Mona Vale
+
Always in the right gear
Holds in one gear too low on downhills
Confirmed purchase: 08 May 2017
Published on: 09 July 2017

Hyundai i40 PREMIUM

10 out of 10

Phillip

Beecroft. NSW City Driver
+
Love the heated seats. Also the automatic features, such as auto opening rear door on approach (wagon).
Would have liked memory seat setting.
Review-photo-icon
50x50
415x380

Confirmed purchase: 28 March 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017

Hyundai i40 PREMIUM

8 out of 10

IAN

Rivett City Driver
+
Looks good feels great to drive very practical for what we wanted overall a very good car
Audio pre set too high and not adjustable passenger seat not electrically adjustable no autonomous braking like a lot of other cars front seats heated only in Australia need cooled seats fuel economy for a diesel is more 2lt over what is stated at 5.5lt per 100km for a premium i40 model I think this is poor compared to other premium models eg ford mondeo
Review-photo-icon
50x50
415x380

1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed purchase: 04 April 2017
Published on: 30 May 2017

Hyundai i40 PREMIUM

10 out of 10

PETER

Mudjimba
+
Wonderful to drive. Quiet and does most of what I wanted
Your advertising brochure is misleading. When i bought I expected memory seats in the front, cooled seats, smart cruise as well as things that you would expect from a top of the line car such as rear windscreen washer, electric folding mirrors.
Turns out that pretty much everything that I expected is available on the Sonata only.
For goodness sake why can't you be specific about inclusions - it is the top of the line - and we needed a wagon - not a sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed purchase: 24 February 2017
Published on: 03 May 2017

Hyundai i40 PREMIUM

10 out of 10

SHIRLEY

Morton vale Freeway Driver
+
Comfortable easy to drive
Runs rough at times
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed purchase: 17 February 2017
Published on: 01 May 2017

Hyundai i40 PREMIUM

reevooReevoo

Here's a list of the questions other consumers have asked owners of the i40

  1. Eliza asked on
    Is the i40 tourer capable to towing a small pop top caravan?
    How is the efficiency of a diesel automatic?
    1. NIGEL replied on
      Great efficieny and yes to towing
    2. DOREEN replied on
      great on efficiency! Well geared for towing.