Close menu
Tell us what you look for in a car
6 models shown below
%models%

LOVED BY AUSTRALIANS

Hyundai partners with Reevoo to provide 100% genuine, uncensored reviews. Here's what people have been saying about their Sonatas.

sonata reviews verified by reevooReevoo

215 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Comfort
9.2
Build quality
9.0
Performance
9.1
Fun to drive
9.1
Practicality
9.1
Fuel economy
8.4
Features and specification
8.9
Value for money
9.1
Overall rating
9.0
Scores 9.0 out of 10 based on 215 reviews
Show more score details
9 out of 10

BETTY

Morley City Driver
+
Every thig is great.
Service every 6 months or7500 K is bit of a con.
Confirmed purchase: 23 February 2017
Published on: 22 April 2017

Hyundai sonata PREMIUM

9 out of 10

GARRY

adelaide sa.
+
comfort. good size boot
acceleration and brakes a bit sudden at this stage.
Confirmed purchase: 21 February 2017
Published on: 18 April 2017

Hyundai sonata PREMIUM

9 out of 10

GREG

Mawson Lakes SA Commuter
+
Feels like you're driving an expensive luxurious limosine
Reviewer left no comment
Review-photo-icon
50x50
415x380

Confirmed purchase: 13 February 2017
Published on: 12 April 2017

Hyundai sonata PREMIUM

8 out of 10

DESMOND

Gulfview Heights SA Commuter
+
RPlenty of power it really gets up & goes. Aircon is great very effective. Roomy very comfortable interior. Phone & GPS very user friendly.
Not really we are very satisfied with it
Confirmed purchase: 07 February 2017
Published on: 06 April 2017

Hyundai sonata PREMIUM

8 out of 10

PHILLIP

Seymour
+
Comfortable driving position of seat. Great sized boot
No auto temperature setting.
Confirmed purchase: 08 February 2017
Published on: 05 April 2017

Hyundai sonata PREMIUM

10 out of 10

SALVATORE

coburg City Driver
+
feels great on the road very comfortable
took a little time to get used to foot brake but now not an issue
Confirmed purchase: 30 January 2017
Published on: 03 April 2017

Hyundai sonata PREMIUM

10 out of 10

AMRINDER

mill park Parent – Young Family
+
Looks and interior, very smooth to drive
Fuel consuming and bit overpriced
Confirmed purchase: 31 January 2017
Published on: 02 April 2017

Hyundai sonata PREMIUM

9 out of 10

WILLIAM

Lake Macquarie
+
Very comfortable seats which makes for an easy drive. :::::: Quiet on the road
:::: Dash layout simple::::: Plenty of power ::::: Overall, I found the Elite a very satisfying car and I'm pleased with my choice over the other vehicles I drove in that class.
Possibly fuel economy although the Elite only used 1 or 2L per 100 over the other cars I tried out. Although the Elite has 40 to 50k more power. Other than that small complaint there is nothing more to add.
Confirmed purchase: 31 January 2017
Published on: 30 March 2017

Hyundai sonata PREMIUM

7 out of 10

JOHN

Little Mountain, Qld City Driver
+
Leg room.
Enough head room, even with sun roof.
Comfort.
Assuredness of ride.
Great boot size.
Direct sun light can render navigation/media screen almost impossible to read. Use of better angles or a perimeter guard would have solved this problem.

Fuel economy in short distance stop start traffic is not the best.

Do't like parking brake.
Confirmed purchase: 31 January 2017
Published on: 28 March 2017

Hyundai sonata PREMIUM

4 out of 10

SIMON

Rochedale South
+
Nice panoramic roof
The fact that it did not come with all the features suggested
Confirmed purchase: 20 January 2017
Published on: 22 March 2017

Hyundai sonata PREMIUM

8 out of 10

WENDY

Relbia Tasmania Commuter
+
Luxury, comfort and stylish
Squeek in sun roof and now factory recall with issues with sunroof and bad fuel economy. My husbands Isuzu MUX is cheaper to run.
Confirmed purchase: 16 January 2017
Published on: 14 March 2017

Hyundai sonata PREMIUM

9 out of 10

ARMANALI

Castle Hill Parent – Teenagers
+
Beautiful car
Full of options
Great to drive
Valuable warranty
Fuel consumption is a bit high
Confirmed purchase: 16 January 2017
Published on: 13 March 2017

Hyundai sonata PREMIUM

9 out of 10

KRIS

Ardlethan, NSW Freeway Driver
+
We feel that the Sonata has too many good points to mention for a car in this price range! Overall, it is competing with some Merc and Beamer models, at a fraction of their cost!
We owned an S-Type Jaguar before this, and whilst it was a pleasure to drive, we feel more confident in the reliability of our new Hyundai.
Turn the key, and it is nice to know that we will get from Point A to Point B without and fuss, and back again!
The 4 cyl. motor has good pick-up, and is good on fuel.
Overall very happy, and if Hyundai keeps on raising the bar with quality matched with price, then it will hard to see us not buying another Hyundai in the future!
We were spoilt with luxury and comfort in our previous car (S-Type Jaguar), and if there is one thing that could be improved upon in our new Hyundai, it would be the comfort factor.
Confirmed purchase: 06 January 2017
Published on: 06 March 2017

Hyundai sonata PREMIUM

10 out of 10

DIANNE

+
all seems good so far
have a slight problem keeping to speed limit - slightest movement of foot and am over the speed limit, especially in 50 zones.
Confirmed purchase: 21 December 2016
Published on: 21 February 2017

Hyundai sonata PREMIUM

10 out of 10

ROBERT

Gisborne Victoria
+
The hole car is just great
No bad points hhnn
Confirmed purchase: 20 December 2016
Published on: 14 February 2017

Hyundai sonata PREMIUM

8 out of 10

MICHAEL

singleton nsw
+
all controls on stearing wheel
Position of the clock. very hard to read from the drivers seat
Confirmed purchase: 15 December 2016
Published on: 09 February 2017

Hyundai sonata PREMIUM

10 out of 10

ANDREW

Melbourne... port Melbourne Commuter
+
Comfortable to drive handles great on the road . Love the steering... great boot space .... plenty of room inside the cabin ... comfortable seats ... also great looking car get a lot of comments from friends and family on how good it looks
Needs better sound system as I like my music loud
Confirmed purchase: 15 December 2016
Published on: 09 February 2017

Hyundai sonata PREMIUM

9 out of 10

RUTA

Newtown City Driver
+
A very smooth ride. Great suspension
Foot park brakr
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed purchase: 06 December 2016
Published on: 02 February 2017

Hyundai sonata PREMIUM

9 out of 10

CLAIRE

Bentleigh East mostly around the suburbs,
+
comfortable, lots of rear leg room. good acceleration. easy to drive.
nice looking car. good handling.
overall its a car we enjoy driving and owning.
no sound when locking doors .
no kee less entry
cruise controls could be simpler
difficult to maintain low speeds 70 and under due to angle of accelerator pedal vs our seating position.
Confirmed purchase: 23 November 2016
Published on: 02 February 2017

Hyundai sonata PREMIUM

8 out of 10

HOWARD

Melbourne City Driver
+
Quiet and comfortable ride
sound system is very basic.
Confirmed purchase: 28 November 2016
Published on: 02 February 2017

Hyundai sonata PREMIUM

reevooReevoo

Here's a list of the questions other consumers have asked owners of the sonata

  1. ellie asked on
    Hi there. I'm looking to buy the Sonata and wanted to know what the boot size was like?
    1. REZA replied on
      Hi, I am very happy with the boot size. Bigger than the other cars in the same class. I can't give the exact dimension right now. I purchased my furniture from ikea and shipped them all with my Sonata you just need to merge the boot with the cabin.
    2. STEPHEN replied on
      Bigger than most. Also the shape and acces is good with the ability to drop rear seats from the boot access. Great Idea for convenience.